While I Was Watching the Oscars (Week 5)

Some where in between a rehearsal for a play I’m in this weekend, and The 84th Oscars, I managed to read a piece. I read “The Witness of the High Hats” by Lockie Hunter. It was published in the Baltimore Review (https://curlyteri.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.php). I didn’t know what it was about until about somewhere in the middle of the first paragraph. I loved that  Hunter was able to create character and personality where so many of us would not have seen any.

Though the piece is surprisingly short, there was a great amount of detail. She created in me a concern for the man she called Gray. I was kind of disappointed that we’ll never know what happened to him. I can’t pick out a single favorite moment everything works so well together. I had “awww” moments and “laugh out loud” moments. I really enjoyed everything about this one. I’m getting better at this random picking. I do think that there may be a little more going on than what is happening on the surface of this essay. I wish I had a little more. It was such a fast and easy read that when I got to the end, it was kind of like running into  wall.


Leave a comment